Seadrill Limited signs deal to acquire Aquadrill LLC

HAMILTON, BERMUDA: Seadrill Limited entered into a definitive merger agreement under which Seadrill will acquire Aquadrill in an all-stock transaction.

Upon completion of the transaction Seadrill shareholders and Aquadrill unitholders will own 62% and 38%, respectively, of the outstanding common shares in the Company.

The transaction values Aquadrill at an implied equity value of approximately US$958 million, based on Seadrill’s 30-day volume-weighted average share price on the NYSE of US$31.25 as of 22 December 2022.

The combination creates an industry-leading offshore drilling company, with a modern and high specification fleet and a streamlined cost structure. The Company will be well-placed to realize estimated annual run rate synergies of at least US$70 million. The Company will also be well-positioned for further growth given its stronger credit and liquidity profile, and to provide attractive cash flows.

Commenting on the transaction, Simon Johnson, Seadrill’s President and Chief Executive Officer, said, “At Seadrill we seek to deliver safe and effective operations as the bedrock for generating returns for our shareholders. Seadrill and Aquadrill have a long and rich strategic and operational management history. Our shared heritage will promote efficient integration of the two companies. I look forward to welcoming the Aquadrill fleet back into the Seadrill family.” Steven Newman, Aquadrill’s Chief Executive Officer, said, “We believe this combination will create the most value for our shareholders and will create an excellent platform for high quality service delivery to our customers.”

The transaction has been approved by the Boards of Directors of both Seadrill and Aquadrill. The required approval of Aquadrill’s unitholders has also been obtained. The transaction does not require Seadrill shareholder approval.

The Company will remain named Seadrill Limited and will continue to be domiciled in Hamilton, Bermuda. Julie Robertson and Simon Johnson will continue in their respective roles as Chair of the Board of Directors, and President and Chief Executive Officer.

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *